| Login Help
Home header left
Give button


IGC Restructures World Championship Schedule

The IGC determined to change the basic schedule of world championship events to better work with the new World Air Games event. The "normal" rotation of the World Gliding Championships was changed to even numbered years beginning in 2006 (no event will be held in 2005). The preliminary plans call for the following schedule:

2001 - World Air Games, Spain (18 Meter Class and World Class. World Soaring Championships, South Africa (15 Meter, Standard and Open Classes).

2003 - World Soaring Championships, Rieti (18 Meter/1 pilot, 15 Meter/2 pilots, Standard Class/2 pilots and Open Class/1 pilot). The World Class World Championships will be held in New Zealand.

2005 - World Air Games (classes and location to be determined)

2006 - World Soaring Championships (location to be determined and the same class configuration as 2003).

This schedule has yet to be finalized by the IGC Bureau and it does not reference the "stand alone" events for Club Class, Juniors and Women. Full details of all events and schedules will be published as soon as they become available.

Posted: 3/18/2000 By: General News

General News 

Search Posts

Recent Posts

Legal Notice

The SSA policy on member posting is located here