| Login Help
Home header left
Give button


Convention Closes - Awards Dinner Honors Volunteers

Four individuals received the SSA Exceptional Service Award. They were George Moffat for his work on behalf of the US Team, Burt Compton for his work promoting the SSA and the sport and Joann and Bob Ditter for their work at the National Soaring Foundation in Hobbs. Other recipients of volunteer awards included Guy Byars, Carl Herold, Charlie Thaeler and Mike Kiesov. All received SSA's Exceptional Achievement Award.

Headlining the flight awards was presentation of the Barringer Trophy to Mike Koerner. Several SSA Distance Medals and World Record certificates were presented as well.

Early in the program, two young men, Steve Garin and Mike Robison, received Kolstad Scholarships. These awards are always a favorite of the dinner attendees. Seeing young men and women receive the benefit of a scholarship for their achievements in soaring is particularly fun.

The Awards Dinner was MC'd by Luan Walker. Luan was the volunteer convention chairman. The awards presentations were handled by Charlie Spratt.

Posted: 3/18/2000 By: General News

General News 

Search Posts

Recent Posts

Legal Notice

The SSA policy on member posting is located here